What is a Taxonomy and a Term?


Despite the words Taxonomy and Term being quite common, i’ve come to notice very few users know the difference between a Taxonomy and a Term.

Michael Fields made a very cool video using a metaphor to explain what Taxonomies and Terms are, for those of you still unclear on the differences or meaning please see the following video.

Category (Taxonomy)
– My Category One (Term)
– My Category Two (Term)

Post Tag (Taxonomy)
– My Tag One (Term)
– My Tag Two (Term)

Sorry to rant, i just had to get that off my chest..

One thought on “What is a Taxonomy and a Term?”

  1. Hello,

    I wanted to thank you again for your past help with taxonomy related problems I had. Specifically this one: http://wordpress.org/support/topic/how-to-display-the-number-of-posts-under-each-tag

    Now I have a new challenge that I was hoping you could weight in on. It’s related to the way ksort() works with special characters. I’d be very greatful if you could have a look!

    http://wordpress.org/support/topic/how-to-alphabetize-list-of-tags-which-use-special-chracters

    Warm regards,
    Mark

Leave a Reply

